How to disable a Twitter account: 5 steps (with pictures)

Table of contents:

How to disable a Twitter account: 5 steps (with pictures)
How to disable a Twitter account: 5 steps (with pictures)
Anonim

Don't feel like using Twitter anymore? Deactivating your account will "turn it off" for 30 days, after which it will be deleted. This is a great way to stop thinking about it all the time, but keep the account until you need it again. See step 1 to learn more.

Steps

Deactivate a Twitter Account Step 1

Step 1. Log in to your Twitter account from a computer

Twitter deactivation is only possible through the desktop site, so open it with your computer's browser or load the desktop version in your mobile browser. You must be logged in to deactivate your account.

Deactivate a Twitter Account Step 2

Step #2. Open Settings

Click the Gear in the top right corner of your Twitter homepage. Select Settings from the menu that appears.

Deactivate a Twitter Account Step 3

Step 3. Click the "Deactivate my account" button

You can find this at the bottom of the Settings menu. You may need to scroll down to find it.

Deactivate a Twitter Account Step 4

Step 4. Read the deactivation warnings

When you deactivate your account it will remain on the Twitter servers for 30 days. After that, the account and all associated data will be deleted.

  • You can reactivate your account at any time during those 30 days by logging into your account from the Twitter homepage.
  • If you try to change your username, or your Twitter URL, you don't need to deactivate the account. You can change this in the Settings menu.
Deactivate a Twitter Account Step 5

Step 5. Deactivate your account

Click on "Deactivate @accountname" to disable your account. You will need to enter your password to proceed with the deactivation.

  • Content on your account may remain visible for a few days while the deactivation process continues across all Twitter servers.
  • If you want to make your username or email address available for creating a new account before the 30 days have passed, make sure to change it in the Settings menu before deactivating the account.
  • If your password is not accepted for the deactivation process, you may need to reset it first.

Popular by topic