See if a private message has been read on Twitter: 10 steps (with pictures)

Table of contents:

See if a private message has been read on Twitter: 10 steps (with pictures)
See if a private message has been read on Twitter: 10 steps (with pictures)
Anonim

The tweets you post on Twitter are readable by everyone. But you can also send private messages to other users via Twitter to communicate with them. A private message is also known as a 'direct message' or 'DM'. The default setting on Twitter is that you receive a read receipt when someone has opened your message. However, users can also disable this functionality. This wikiHow teaches you how to find out if someone has already opened your private message on Twitter, and how to customize the read receipt settings to your liking.

Steps

Method 1 of 2: Using the Twitter mobile app

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 1

Step 1. Open Twitter on your mobile phone or tablet

You can recognize Twitter by the icon of a blue bird. You can find it on your home screen or in the downloaded apps menu.

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 2

Step #2. Tap on the envelope icon

You'll find it in the bottom right corner of your Twitter feed. Tapping this will open your messages.

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 3

Step #3. Tap on a conversation

Tapping on the name of the person you messaged opens the conversation with that person. The most recent message is at the bottom.

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 4

Step #4. Tap the message bubble once

If the recipient has opened the message, the word "Seen" will appear below the message you sent, to the left of the check mark (✓). If you see the word 'Seen', the recipient has opened and seen the message. If the word "Seen" isn't next to the check mark, the recipient hasn't opened the message yet or has read receipts turned off.

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 5

Step 5. Adjust your read receipt settings (optional)

The default setting on Twitter is that you receive a read receipt when someone has opened your message. However, users can also disable this functionality. You do this in your personal settings and works as follows:

  • Tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  • Tap on Settings & privacy.
  • Tap on Privacy and security.
  • If you don't want someone to see when you've opened their message, turn the "Show read receipt" slider to off (gray). You will find this slider in the 'Private messages' section. The adjustment is made immediately.
  • If you do want to turn the read receipts back on, turn the slider back on (green or blue).

Method 2 of 2: Using a computer

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 6

Step 1. Go to https://www.twitter.com in a web browser

If you're already logged in, you'll be taken directly to your Twitter feed. If you are not logged in yet, follow the steps that appear on the screen to log in.

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 7

Step #2. Click on Messages

You'll find this option about halfway down the menu on the left side of the webpage. If you click on this, you will see an overview of your private conversations.

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 8

Step #3. Click on a conversation

Clicking on the name of the person you messaged opens the conversation with that person. The most recent message is at the bottom.

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 9

Step 4. Click the checkmark (✓) under the message you sent

The checkmark is immediately below the message and to the right of the time stamp when you sent the message. If you see the word 'Seen', the recipient has opened and seen the message. If the word "Seen" isn't next to the check mark, the recipient hasn't opened the message yet or has read receipts turned off.

Check if Your Direct Message Has Been Read on Twitter Step 10

Step 5. Adjust your read receipt settings (optional)

The default setting on Twitter is that you receive a read receipt when someone has opened your message. However, users can also disable this functionality. You do this as follows:

  • Click on the menu More in the left bar.
  • click on Settings & privacy.
  • click on Privacy and security in the middle bar.
  • If you don't want someone to see when you opened their message, uncheck "Show read receipts" under the "Private messages" heading. The adjustment is made immediately.
  • If you still want to turn the read receipts back on, check the box next to 'Show read receipts'.

Popular by topic