If you haven't changed anything, your Twitter account is public, which means your tweets can be seen by anyone and you can be followed by anyone. If you make your account private, only users approved by you can read your tweets. This is a handy way to protect your account from, for example, your employer or other people. In this article we tell you how to do that.
Method 1 of 2: Shield your tweets
Step 1. Think carefully before shielding your tweets
Before you change your settings, it is good to know what it actually means. When shielding tweets, the following restrictions apply:
- Others must ask for your approval before they can follow you, and you must approve each request.
- Your tweets are only visible to users you've approved.
- Other users cannot retweet your tweets.
- Shielded tweets will not appear in Twitter or Google searches.
- If you @reply to someone who doesn't follow you, they won't be able to read your reply (because they don't have permission to see your tweets). For example: if you want to tweet a Famous Dutch person they will not be able to see it because you have not allowed him/her to follow you.
- Everything you've tweeted while your account was public will now be protected, and only visible to approved followers.
- You can't share permanent links to your tweets with anyone other than the followers you've approved.
Step 2. Log in with your username and password
Step 3. Click on the gear icon
Click on 'Settings'.
Step 4. Click on 'Account & Privacy'
Check the box next to 'Shield my tweets'.
Step 5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click 'Save'
From now on, all your tweets are protected and can only be viewed by people you have approved.
Step 6. Make your tweets public again
If you want to make your tweets public again, all you have to do is uncheck the box next to 'Shield my tweets'.
- All tweets you posted while your account was protected will become public as a result.
- Check who wants to follow you before you make your account public, because these people will not be automatically accepted. They will have to submit a new follow request.
Method 2 of 2: Accept follow requests
Step 1. Go to your home page
Step 2. Check if you have any follow requests
A large button in the left sidebar indicates if you have any follow requests.
You will also receive an email when you receive a new follow request
Step #3. Check out the follow requests
Click the button to view the profiles of users who want to follow you. You'll see the username, profile picture, and a link to their Twitter profile.
Step 4. Click 'Accept' or 'Decline'
Rejected users will not receive a notification. Accepted users can now read your tweets, but they can't retweet the tweets (because their followers don't have permission to read your tweets).
- Public tweets you've previously posted will always remain public and discoverable, even if you choose to hide your tweets. Only tweets posted after you update your settings will be protected.
- You can delete all public tweets to keep your information private.
- Twitter users who don't follow you won't be able to read your replies to tweets. If you want certain users to be able to read what you answer, you must invite these users to follow you.