Making your Instagram account private: 5 steps (with images)

Table of contents:

Making your Instagram account private: 5 steps (with images)
Making your Instagram account private: 5 steps (with images)
Anonim

In this article you can read how you can make sure your Instagram profile is no longer visible to everyone. To protect your Instagram account from strangers, you should switch privacy settings to 'Private' so that people who don't follow you yet and who want to view your photos have to ask your permission first and wait for you to accept them. This procedure will not affect the followers you already have. As with most activities within Instagram, you can only change your privacy settings through your own Instagram account, not through the Instagram website.

Steps

Make Your Instagram Photos Private Step 1

Step #1. Open Instagram

Tap the Instagram app. This one looks a lot like a colorful camera. This is how you open the home page of Instagram, if you are already logged in to Instagram.

  • If you haven't signed in to Instagram yet, enter your username (or phone number) and password and tap To register.
Make Your Instagram Photos Private Step 2

Step 2. Tap on Profile

AndroidIGprofile

It's the button in the top right corner of the screen. If you have logged in to multiple accounts within the Instagram app, the profile picture of the current account will appear here.

Make Your Instagram Photos Private Step 3

Step 3. Tap the 'Settings' gear (iPhone) or ⋮

(Android).

This icon can be found near the top right corner of the screen on both platforms.

Make Your Instagram Photos Private Step 4

Step 4. Scroll down and drag 'Private Account'

iphoneswitchoffice

to the right.

It then turns blue. This means that your Instagram account is now private, and your photos will only be visible to the people you've accepted.

Make Your Instagram Photos Private Step 5

Step 5. When prompted, tap OK

A drop-down menu will appear informing you what a private account means. by on OK tapping confirms the change in your profile. People who do not follow you yet and whom you have not accepted can no longer see your Instagram photos.

Tips

Popular by topic