How to Remove Followers on Instagram: 14 Steps (with Pictures)

Table of contents:

How to Remove Followers on Instagram: 14 Steps (with Pictures)
How to Remove Followers on Instagram: 14 Steps (with Pictures)
Anonim

If you're being harassed on Instagram by a pushy family member or cat-crazy friend, you'll be happy to know that you can block them from seeing your account. You can't "delete" followers in the traditional way, but you can block them from viewing your profile. You can also choose to make your account private to prevent new unwanted followers.

Steps

Part 1 of 2: Block followers

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 1

Step #1. Tap the Instagram app to open Instagram

If you're using a computer, go to Instagram's website.

You'll need to log in with your Instagram account information if you haven't already done so

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 2

Step 2. Go to your profile page

To do this, tap or click on a person's icon. If you are using a smartphone, you can find this icon in the bottom right corner of the screen.

On a computer, you can find this icon in the top right corner of the screen

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 3

Step 3. Tap or click on the "Followers" option

You should be able to find this option to the right of your profile picture.

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 4

Step 4. View your list of followers

You can't force a follower to unfollow your profile, but you can block them from following or viewing your account.

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 5

Step 5. Click or tap on the follower you want to remove

The follower's profile will now open, where you can block him or her.

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 6

Step 6. Tap the button which consists of three dots to open the menu

You'll find this button in the top-right corner of the screen (or to the right of the follower's name if you're using a computer).

If you're using Android, the dots are in a vertical line instead of a horizontal line

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 7

Step 7. Click or tap on the "Block User" option

On Instagram's website, this option is called "Block this user". After choosing this option, Instagram will ask you to confirm your choice.

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 8

Step 8. Click or tap "Yes, I'm sure"

The selected user will now be blocked and he or she will no longer be able to see your messages.

  • The user you blocked will still be able to see your comments on other users' photos and they will still be able to search for your account. However, the user cannot view your account.
  • You can view a list of your blocked users at any time by going to the Settings menu and selecting the "Blocked Users" tab.
Delete Followers on Instagram Step 9

Step 9. Repeat this process for each follower you want to block

If you want to avoid getting unwanted followers from now on, you can make your account private. As a result, users will have to send you a follow request that you must approve before someone can view your account.

Part 2 of 2: Making your account private

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 10

Step 1. Open the Instagram app on your smartphone

By making your account private, anyone who wants to follow you will have to send you a follow request. You are the only person who can approve that follow request. This gives you more control over who has access to your Instagram account.

  • Making your account private will also prevent users from accessing your comments and likes, with the only exception being public posts (your name will appear alongside other likes, but your account will still be protected).
  • You cannot change your account privacy settings on a computer.
Delete Followers on Instagram Step 11

Step 2. Open your profile if you haven't already opened it

To do that, tap the person-shaped icon in the bottom right corner of your phone's screen.

You can also do this on a tablet

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 12

Step 3. Open your account settings menu

Do this by tapping the gear icon (iOS) or the three dots (Android) in the top right corner of the screen.

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 13

Step 4. Scroll down to the "Account" group

This is a series of account options tabs. The option "Private account" can be found at the bottom of this group.

Delete Followers on Instagram Step 14

Step 5. Swipe the slider next to the "Private Account" option to enable it

The gray slider should now turn blue to indicate that your account is now private.

  • If you want to turn this option off again, just swipe the slider back and tap "Ok" in the pop-up window.
  • Note that enabling this option will not affect your current followers. If you want to block some of your current followers or block them all, you will have to do this manually.

Tips

  • Blocked users will not be able to see photos of you in their "Photos you like" tab.
  • You'll still be able to see the blocked user's likes and comments on your photos, but you can manually delete them if you want.

Popular by topic