How to Delete a Group on Facebook: 10 Steps (with Pictures)

Table of contents:

How to Delete a Group on Facebook: 10 Steps (with Pictures)
How to Delete a Group on Facebook: 10 Steps (with Pictures)
Anonim

Do you have a group on your list that you no longer use or don't want to be a part of? If someone else has created the group, it is very easy to leave the group. If you are the administrator yourself, it is not difficult either, but it does take a little more time. We'll show you how.

Steps

Method 1 of 2: Deleting a group you created yourself

Delete a Facebook Group Step 1

Step 1. Sign in to Facebook

You can only delete groups that you have created yourself. You must be an Admin to delete a group.

Click the Facebook logo to get to News Feed, not your Timeline to see your list of groups

Delete a Facebook Group Step 2

Step 2. Go to the main page of the group you want to delete (The group is in the left column under "Groups" or you can search for it)

Click on the group name, then the main page of the group opens.

Delete a Facebook Group Step 3

Step 3. Click on the Settings icon

The icon can be found at the top right of the page.

Delete a Facebook Group Step 4

Step 4. Create the "Secret" group

Then you can be sure that the group will not appear in searches and that the people you have deleted cannot log in again.

Delete a Facebook Group Step 5

Step 5. Click on the "Members" tab

Click on "All members". Now you see everyone in this group.

Delete a Facebook Group Step 6

Step 6. Remove all members

Click on the icon under the group member's name and select from the menu Remove from group. Make sure to remove yourself last!

There is no way to remove multiple members at once, so you have to remove them from the group one at a time

Delete a Facebook Group Step 7

Step 7. If you are left alone you can remove yourself

Facebook now asks "Are you sure you want to leave this group? Since you are the last member, this group will be removed if you leave the group". If you want this, click Delete group.

If you accidentally deleted all admins, as well as lost your own admin privileges, you'll have to wait for the group to let you back into admin. It may take a few days before you get this opportunity

Method 2 of 2: Leave a group from your list

Delete a Facebook Group Step 8

Step 1. Sign in to Facebook

Find the group you want to delete in the left column. click on More if you don't see the group.

Click on the Facebook logo to go to News Feed and not to your timeline

Delete a Facebook Group Step 9

Step 2. Click on the name of the group

Now the main page of that group opens. Go to the settings at the top of the page. Click on the settings icon and choose Leave group.

Delete a Facebook Group Step 10

Step 3. Verify that you want to leave the group

Then click Leave group, now you have been removed from the group and the group will no longer be in the left column when you refresh the page.

  • You have the option to prevent others from adding you back to the group. Choose by checking or unchecking the option.
  • Other members will not be notified that you have left the group.

Tips

  • Visit the Facebook Help Center for comprehensive assistance.
  • You have to remove each member separately, you can't do it all at once. Take your time when it comes to a large group.
  • If closing a group is a sensitive issue, it might be a good idea to message all group members before closing the group. Click the "Send message" button and then check "Select all", then you will send a message to all members at once.

Warnings

  • Leaving a group of which you are the only admin does not delete the group. If you do, a message will be sent to the group members with a request to become administrator.
  • Don't remove yourself as an admin before letting other admins know you're leaving the group.

Popular by topic