Hide your profile picture on Facebook (with pictures)

Table of contents:

Hide your profile picture on Facebook (with pictures)
Hide your profile picture on Facebook (with pictures)
Anonim

This wikiHow teaches you how to change the privacy setting of your profile picture and make it visible only to your own account. Only you can see your photo when you restrict its privacy, and no one else.

Steps

Method 1 of 2: Using a computer

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 1

Step 1. Open Facebook in your internet browser

Type www.facebook.com in the address bar and press ↵ Enter or ⏎ Return on your keyboard.

  • If you are not automatically signed in, please enter your email address or phone number and your password in the sign up form at the top right and click login.
Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 2

Step 2. Click on your profile picture or name at the top left

Find your name and profile picture at the top of the navigation menu on the left and click on it. This will open your profile.

You can also click your name at the top right or the photo in the message box at the top of the news feed. These also open your profile

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 3

Step #3. Click the Photos tab on your profile page

You can find this button under your cover photo at the top of your profile. A list of all photos opens.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 4

Step #4. Click the Albums tab on the Photos page

This button is located in the top left corner of your photo grid.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 5

Step 5. Click on the Profile Photos album

This will open a list of all profile pictures.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 6

Step 6. Click on the photo you want to hide

Find the photo you want to hide in the profile photos album and click on it. This will open the photo in a pop-up window.

On the right, you'll see the photo's upload information and comments

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 7

Step 7. Click on the little globe icon at the top right under your name

This button is located next to the photo's date in the top-right corner of the pop-up window. It shows your privacy options in a drop-down menu.

  • If your photo's privacy is set to a setting other than Everybody, then you probably see figurehead icons here instead of a globe.
Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 8

Step 8. Select Only Me from the drop-down menu

This option looks like a lock icon. If this option is selected, your photo will only be visible to your account. Other users cannot view the photo.

  • If you Only me don't see it in the menu, tap at the bottom More to expand more options.

Method 2 of 2: Using Android or iOS

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 9

Step #1. Open the Facebook app on your phone or tablet

The Facebook icon looks like a white "f" on a blue background.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 10

Step #2. Tap your profile picture at the top left

You'll find a thumbnail of your profile picture below the search bar in the top left corner. Tap it to open your profile page.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 11

Step #3. Scroll down and tap Photos on your profile

This will open all photos on a new page.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 12

Step #4. Tap on the Albums tab at the top

This will open a list of all photo albums.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 13

Step 5. Click on the Profile Photos album

This album contains all current and previous profile pictures.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 14

Step 6. Tap the profile picture you want to hide

This will open the selected photo in full screen.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 15

Step 7. Tap the three dots icon at the top right

This button is located next to the pin and tag icons in the top right corner of your screen. A pop-up menu will open with all photo options.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 16

Step 8. Tap Edit Privacy on the menu

This will open your privacy options on a new page.

Hide Your Profile Picture on Facebook Step 17

Step 9. Select Only Me on the 'Edit Privacy' page

If this option is selected, your photo will only be visible to your account. Other users cannot see it.

  • If you're using an iPhone or iPad, tap Ready in the top right corner to save.
  • On Android, you can just tap the back button and close the menu.

Popular by topic