Delete iPhone browsing history

Table of contents:

Delete iPhone browsing history
Delete iPhone browsing history
Anonim

Your iPhone stores a ton of data about what you do. Usually, this data is used to make things easier for you, such as locating a website you've visited before or finding a missed call. If you're concerned that someone might see something they shouldn't, you can delete the history of the various services on your iPhone, or delete all data on your iPhone.

Steps

Method 1 of 7: Safari browsing history

Clear History on an iPhone Step 1

Step #1. Open the Settings app

You will be deleting your browsing history with the Settings app, not the Safari app. You can delete your browsing history in Safari, but cookies and autocomplete data will not be deleted. Deleting your history with the Settings app ensures that everything is deleted.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 2

Step 2. Scroll down and tap on "Safari"

You should be able to find this option in the fifth group of options.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 3

Step 3. In the Safari menu, scroll down and tap "Clear Cookies and Data"

A window will appear asking you to confirm your choice.

If this button is gray, then you need to disable the restrictions for websites. Go back to the settings menu and choose "Restrictions". Enter your restrictions code, then tap "Websites." Choose "All websites" to delete your history. If you don't have a restriction code, you won't be able to clear your history

Clear History on an iPhone Step 4

Step 4. Confirm that you want to delete the history

Safari's browsing history, cache, autocomplete data, and cookies will be deleted. Your browsing history will also be deleted on all other devices where you are signed in with your iCloud account.

Method 2 of 7: Chrome browsing history

Clear History on an iPhone Step 5

Step #1. Open the Chrome app

If you use Chrome on your iPhone, you can delete your browsing history with the Chrome app itself.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 6

Step 2. Tap the Menu button (⋮) and choose "Settings"

You may have to scroll down to see this option.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 7

Step 3. Tap on "Privacy" option

A new menu will appear with some options to reset things.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 8

Step 4. Tap "Clear browsing data" to delete your history

You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete your history.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 9

Step 5. Tap "Clear All" to clear all your browsing data

This will delete your history, cache, website data and cookies.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 10

Step 6. Tap "Clear saved auto-complete form data" to remove all auto-complete data

Removes all suggestions that appear when you select a text box.

Method 3 of 7: Call History

Clear History on an iPhone Step 11

Step #1. Open the Phone app

You can delete your call history so that your calls don't appear in the recent calls list.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 12

Step 2. Tap on the "Recent" tab

You will now see a list of all the numbers you have recently called and the calls you have received.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 13

Step 3. Tap "Edit" at the top right corner

A red minus sign will appear next to each call in the list.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 14

Step #4. Tap a red minus sign to delete a single conversation

Tapping the minus sign next to a call will delete it.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 15

Step 5. Tap "Clear" to delete all calls at once

If you want to delete the entire list, tap "Clear" in the top left corner. This option will only appear after you tap "Edit". All calls in the "Recent" tab will be deleted.

Method 4 of 7: iMessage History

Clear History on an iPhone Step 16

Step #1. Open the Messages app

You can delete SMS conversations with the Messages app.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 17

Step 2. Tap the "Change" button

You can find this button in the top left corner.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 18

Step 3. Select all conversations you want to delete

Check the box for each conversation you want to delete. You can select multiple conversations.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 19

Step 4. After selecting conversations, tap "Delete"

All selected conversations will be deleted immediately without prompting for confirmation.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 20

Step 5. Change your message history settings

By default, the Messages app is set to keep all messages forever. You can adjust these settings to keep your messages for only a year or 30 days. This frees up space and makes your phone less cluttered.

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Choose "Messages".
  • Tap "Save messages".
  • Choose how long you want to keep your messages. Messages older than the option you choose will be automatically deleted.

Method 5 of 7: Keyboard History

Clear History on an iPhone Step 21

Step #1. Open the Settings app

If you want to remove words added to your iPhone's autocorrect dictionary, you can do so in the Settings app.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 22

Step 2. Choose "General"

You will now be presented with a list of common iPhone options.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 23

Step 3. Scroll down and tap on "Reset"

You will be presented with several options for resetting things.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 24

Step 4. Tap on "Recover Keyboard Dictionary"

You will be asked to confirm your choice. All words that you have added and saved yourself will be deleted.

Method 6 of 7: Google Search app

Clear History on an iPhone Step 25

Step #1. Open the Google app

If you use the Google app to search with Google, you can delete your history using the app.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 26

Step #2. Tap on the gear icon at the top left corner

This will open the Settings menu.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 27

Step 3. Scroll down and tap on "Privacy"

You will see your active account.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 28

Step 4. Tap on "Browse" option

The "History" section will now appear at the top of the screen.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 29

Step 5. Tap "Clear Device History" to clear your search history

Note that this only deletes the search history for your app. Your searches will still be saved to your active Google account.

Method 7 of 7: Delete all data

Prepare to Sell Your iPhone Step 7

Step 1. Use this option if you want to completely empty your iPhone

This will delete all history and data on your iPhone. When the process is complete, you will be prompted to reset your iPhone.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 31

Step #2. Open the Settings app

If you're sure you want to delete everything on your iPhone, open the Settings app.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 32

Step 3. Choose the "General" option

Your iPhone's general settings will now open.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 33

Step 4. Scroll down and tap on "Reset"

You will be presented with a number of options for resetting things.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 34

Step 5. Tap "Erase All Content and Settings"

You will be asked to confirm that you want to completely remove everything.

Switch from Android to iPhone Step 12

Step 6. Wait for your iPhone to erase all data and settings

It may take a while for this process to complete.

Clear History on an iPhone Step 36

Step 7. Set up your iPhone

When the data is deleted, you will have to go through a few steps to reset your iPhone. You can completely reset your iPhone, or restore an iTunes or iCloud backup.

Popular by topic