Using an earlier version of Minecraft

Table of contents:

Using an earlier version of Minecraft
Using an earlier version of Minecraft
Anonim

Minecraft is constantly being improved and with each new version a whole host of new features and changes have been added to the game. These make the game better and increase the fun. But what if you liked the game more the way it was? Fortunately, downgrading to an older version of Minecraft is now easier than ever, and you can still play online with others who have the same version. See below to learn how to do this.

Steps

Method 1 of 3: Changing your profile

Downgrade Minecraft Step 1

Step 1. Launch Minecraft

You can use the Minecraft Launcher to launch previous versions. You must have version 1.6 or later to use this option. You can use this method to play from the very latest version to Minecraft Classic. To access earlier versions, see the following directions.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 2

Step 2. Click the Profile Editor tab

This will open a new window.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 3

Step 3. Select your version

Click on “Use version” and select the version you want to load. Click on Save Profile.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 4

Step 4. Restart the launcher and open the game

Now it is no longer possible to connect to servers that run a different version, but you can of course play a single player game or use servers that run the same version.

Method 2 of 3: Replacing the Minecraft file

Downgrade Minecraft Step 5

Step 1. Download the file that corresponds to the version you are looking for

You can find the.jar files in various locations on the internet. Be sure to download from a reliable website, otherwise the.jar file may contain a virus or other malicious software.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 6

Step 2. Open the AppData folder

You can open it via Start and then search for “%appdata%”. Press enter to open the folder. Now you are in the AppData\Roaming folder.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 7

Step 3. Open the Minecraft folder

Then open the “bin” folder.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 8

Step 4. Backup the original Minecraft file

Search for the Minecraft.jar file. Rename it and leave the file, in case you want to go back to the current version.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 9

Step 5. Copy the downloaded Minecraft file

Place it in the “bin” folder that also contains the renamed original file. Make sure the name is equal to “Minecraft.jar”.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 10

Step 6. Start Minecraft with the launcher

You can now play Minecraft with the new version you have chosen. It is now no longer possible to connect to servers running a different version, but you can of course play a single player game or use servers that run the same version.

Method 3 of 3: Using a version changer

Downgrade Minecraft Step 11

Step 1. Download a Minecraft version changer

These programs have all the files for each version of Minecraft, giving you the choice of which version you want to play with. Make sure that you only download from a trusted source, because otherwise viruses or other nasty programs can end up on your computer. Popular are the following:

  • Minecraft Version Changer
  • MCNostalgia
Downgrade Minecraft Step 12

Step 2. Backup your current version of Minecraft

This prevents you from losing savegames or other data, in case they are not compatible with the downgraded version. Do the following:

  • Create a new folder on your desktop. Call it “Minecraft Backup” or something similar.
  • In the search field or in the explorer, type %AppData%. Press Enter. In your AppData folder, open the Roaming folder. Here you will find the minecraft folder. This contains all Minecraft program files.
  • Copy this entire “.minecraft” folder to your backup folder. Copy, not cut.
Downgrade Minecraft Step 13

Step 3. Run the version changer

While each version changer may look different, they all essentially do the same thing. The program should be able to find the location of your Minecraft installation automatically, after which you can choose from a number of versions. This goes all the way back to the early alpha (a) and beta (b) versions.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 14

Step 4. Choose the version you want to play from the list

The associated files are downloaded and installed. When the process is complete, close the version changer.

Downgrade Minecraft Step 15

Step 5. Launch Minecraft

You can log in after this patch and continue playing Minecraft as usual. Now it is no longer possible to connect to servers running a different version, but you can play a single player game or use servers running the same version. Mods may not be compatible.

Popular by topic