Delete a user on a PS4

Table of contents:

Delete a user on a PS4
Delete a user on a PS4
Anonim

The PlayStation 4 is a game console with the ability to create multiple users. The process for removing such a user is very simple.

Steps

Method 1 of 3: Remove other users from the primary account

Delete a User on PS4 Step 1

Step 1. Log in with your primary account

Turn on your PS4 and enter your login information as usual. To delete other accounts, you must be logged in as the primary user.

Delete a User on PS4 Step 2

Step 2. Go to 'Settings'

Push the left stick up on the home screen to open a menu of options. Use the left joystick to navigate. Scroll to the right until you see a toolbox labeled "Settings." Press 'X' to select it.

Delete a User on PS4 Step 3

Step 3. Open the 'Login Settings' screen

In the settings menu, scroll down to 'User management', and click on 'Delete user'.

Delete a User on PS4 Step 4

Step 4. Delete the desired user

Scroll to the user you want to remove. Click on 'X' to remove the user, then confirm your choice. From here, follow the instructions you get from your PS4.

  • To delete your primary account, your PS4 will need to be initialized first. When you click 'Delete' your PS4 will ask if you really want to initialize your system. This means your PS4 will be reset to factory settings. You will permanently lose data that you have not backed up.

    You can create a backup by going to Settings > Application Saved Data Management > Saved Data in System Storage. From there, select 'Online Storage' to save your data online, or 'USB Storage' to save your data to a USB device such as an external hard drive. Select the game or app you want to back up and click 'Copy'

  • Do not turn off your PS4 during this process. This can seriously damage the system.
Delete a User on PS4 Step 5

Step 5. Check if the user has been deleted

Log out, and then log in again. If the user in question is no longer visible on the options screen, you have successfully removed the user from the system.

Method 2 of 3: Restore defaults from the primary account

Delete a User on PS4 Step 6

Step 1. Log in with your primary account

Turn on your PS4 and enter your login information as usual. You must be logged in as the primary user.

Delete a User on PS4 Step 7

Step 2. Go to 'Settings'

Push the left stick up on the home screen to open a menu of options. Use the left stick to navigate. Scroll to the right until you see a toolbox labeled "Settings." Press 'X' to select it.

Delete a User on PS4 Step 8

Step 3. Open the 'Initialization' screen

In the settings menu, scroll all the way down to 'Initialization'. Here, click on 'Initialize PS4'. Choose the 'Full' option and follow the instructions from your PS4. This will reset your PS4 to factory settings, and delete any data that is not backed up, such as trophies, screenshots, etc.

  • You can back up your data by going to Settings > Application Saved Data Management > Saved Data in System Storage. From there, select 'Online Storage' to save your data online, or 'USB Storage' to save your data to a USB device such as an external hard drive. Select the game or app you want to back up and click 'Copy'.
  • A full reset takes a few hours. Do not turn off your PS4 during this process as it can seriously damage the system.

Method 3 of 3: Remove users through a manual reset

Delete a User on PS4 Step 9

Step 1. Back up any data you want to keep

Go to Settings > Application Saved Data Management > System Storage Saved Data. From there, select 'Online Storage' to save your data online, or 'USB Storage' to save your data to a USB device such as an external hard drive. Select the game or app you want to back up and click 'Copy'.

Connect a Mouse to a PlayStation 4 Step 11

Step 2. Turn off the PS4 manually

Press and hold the power button for a few seconds. Wait until you hear a beep, and the light turns red. Now release the button.

Get Fortnite Skins on PS4 Step 1

Step 3. Turn your PS4 back on manually

Keep your finger on the power button again. You will now hear a first beep, followed by a second beep about seven seconds later. Now release the button.

Delete a User on PS4 Step 12

Step 4. Press 'Restore Default Settings'

Your PS4 will now boot in safe mode. Navigate with your joystick to 'Restore default settings'. This will reset your PS4 to factory settings, and delete any data that is not backed up, such as trophies, screenshots, etc.

  • In safe mode, the controller must be connected to the PS4 via a USB cable.
  • Only use this method if you're initializing a PS4 that you don't know the password for.

Popular by topic